Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Structural Joint sealant for 120

Structural Joint sealant for 120

Hello, so I acquired a 120 gal for free with the mention that it needed a reseal. Upon further inspection most of the bottom structural seal is missing so I'm looking to completely dismantle the glass and build it over again. My original plan was to use RTV 108, as I planned to just redo the entire inner seal but as I've never done a structural seal like this before I'm curious to know if I'll need something with a stronger bond to hold the glass in place then continue with the original plan. This is an older 6x2x2 120 with approx 1/2 glass on the outer panels I haven't personally taken measurements yet as it started to rain while i was stripping silicone today. But any help here from you DIY guys and gals would be greatly appreciated.

I broke down and built a new 100 gallon that dropped as I was trying to work it up the steps by myself. The front pane cracked. I used GE silicone #1. I used the trim pieces to make sure I had everything square and then clamps to hold it tight to cure. I was pretty much a newbie back then. I'd never even resealed a tank before. It is now 13 years later and the tank is still holding water.

I understand that there is a stronger silicone than GE #1. I don't know what it's called. It may be what you plan to use.

I haven't had to do a tank this large before so I want to be sure before I do it. I was thinking RTV in joints and aquarium silicone on inside seams. There isn't much info out there about doing structural joints unfortunately

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

I think you will be fine with GE silicone #1 but if spending more money will make you feel more secure, go for it.