Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Panda Ghost genetics

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Panda Ghost genetics

I recently obtained angelfish pair, owner called them Panda Ghost 13A. They look exactly same as Panda Ghosts in gallery:

http://www.theangelfishsociety.org/p...-ghost&cat=510

They already bred and raised babies (great parents!). Interesting, they produced 4 different color variations of the babies. I'm new in angelfish genetics and trying to figure out, what genetics have parents and babies. I searched about panda angelfish but was unable to find much. Could somebody tell me what a genetics code of the parents? Thanks.

Can you put up photos of your fish and photos of their progeny? I've not heard of Panda Angels before but from my limited snoop around it sounds as though there is some form of marble going on (these are what came up for me labelled Panda Angels: http://absolutelyfish.com/wp-content...anda-angel.jpg and they almost look like they are platinum based). It seems to be a trade name, not a genetics-based name, so it will be like any other breeding puzzle in that you'll need to carefully examine the phenotype of the parents, take good photos and get second and third opinions, raise some fry, and carefully assess the phenotypes and phenotype ratios and perform outcrosses with other angels to reveal gene interactions. I also found this: http://arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500218

Panda angelfish are a low color variety of Koi. Many breeders cull them for the lack of orange coloration needed to label them as true Koi, however, others raise them and call them Pandas as they are black and white koi types. Genetically they are the same as Koi (Gm/Gm or Gm/g or Gm/+ with S/S). Not sure if I have any photos, but I will dig around and see if I can find any from the days I bred Koi lines.